Clarens – where to stay

I recently asked for recommended places to stay in Clarens as we are going there for a wedding soon, and tons of people asked me to share the recommendations, so here they are in a blog post – easy to come back to when you need to.


Please remember I haven’t personally stayed in any of these places, but all recommended by my community on IG.


Clarens is a small town situated in the foothills of the Maluti Mountains in the Free State province of South Africa and nicknamed the “Jewel of the Eastern Free State”. Source


The Andes: https://www.andesclarens.co.za

Cullen House: https://www.clarenscullenhouse.co.za

Kiara Lodge (recommended many times and said to be really nice for families): https://www.kiaralodgeresort.co.za

The Red Door: https://www.booking.com/hotel/za/the-red-door-clarens

Wild Horses for couples: https://www.wildhorses.co.za

Millpond House: https://millpondhouse.webs.com

Bokport: https://www.bokpoort.com

Neethlings Places: https://www.neethlingsplace.co.za

Periwinkle Blue: https://periwinklecottages.co.za

The Golf Course (ideal for family getaway)

Iona Lodge: https://www.infoclarens.com/accommodation/iona-in-clarens-2-bedroom-house-sleeps-4/

Omega Luxury Mountain Retreat: http://www.omegaclarens.co.za/accommodation/luxury-cabins/

Ridge Road Estate (sleeps 12): https://www.ridgeroad.co.za

Lola’s Luxury Self Catering: https://www.lolasluxury.co.za

Amour De Pierre Villa 221: https://www.clarenscountrystay.co.za/project/amour-de-pierre-villa-221-self-catering-accommodation/

Golden Gate: https://goldengatehotel.co.za

Clarens Retreat: https://www.clarensretreat.co.za

By the Way Guesthouse: https://www.bythewayguesthouse.co.za

Protea Hotel: https://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/fcbcl-protea-hotel-clarens/

Free State | South Africa © http://www.chiarasalvadori.com

We have booked at a cute AirBnb, which I will review after our stay.

Author: Shan Fourie

Mom to three, Shan is a busy entrepreneur living in the seaside town of Ballito. Shan has a loyal following who love her for her raw honesty in her life journey. Shan loves to share her life with her followers, and has a keen interest in anything fashion, beauty, hair and motherhood related. Her and her husband also love to travel and review both holiday destinations and spa retreats.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.